Healthy Eating Can Be Delicious

Chocolate-Pumpkin Pizookie Photo by Chocolate Covered Katie

I have found several blogs that I like to follow, but my favorite is Chocolate Covered Katie.  It is a vegan blog and, although I am nowhere near wanting to be vegan, she has a lot of delicious, healthy recipes that can be adapted to almost any diet.  My favorite recipe of hers that I have tried so far is Chocolate-Pumpkin Pizookie.  Sometimes I eat it for breakfast!  DH and I have been trying to eat healthy since about the first of November.  We had our first grandchild last year and decided we need to be around to see him grow up.  We are both overweight and don’t get enough exercise, so it was time for a dramatic change.  We had both tried dieting before, but I decided I needed help.  Being the grandmother age, I knew my hormone levels were not right and, with all the recent articles about hormone replacement therapy, I knew I didn’t want that anymore.  So, I decided to try holistic medicine.  I have really been very pleased with the results.

I still don’t get enough exercise, but I am hoping that will get better.  I am, however, eating healthier, and with natural supplements, am getting my body to where it is functioning properly.  I am being treated by a wonderful place, Multi-Care Holistic Health Center.  The staff is so helpful and Dr. Johnson is great.   They helped me identify foods that I am sensitive to and areas of my body that were not functioning properly.  I have now lost 38 pounds, about 7 inches in my waist (not to mention a whole lot of inches everywhere else) and am eating healthier, including eating less processed foods or foods with lots of chemicals.  So, I am now always in search of healthier recipes and, as I find or develop them, I want to share them with you.

I hope you understand, I am nowhere near an expert in this field, but I figure we can learn together.  I know that not everyone needs to lose weight like I do, but I am sure that a lot of us need to eat healthier.

There are some unexpected benefits from my change in eating habits.  I have found that my tastes have changed.  I allow myself a cheat meal once a week, but it is getting harder to find unhealthy foods that I really want.  They just don’t taste as good as they used to, or they really make me feel bad, and so I just don’t want them.  I am also cooking at home more, which saves us money.  Now I know what you are thinking.  It costs more to cook healthy.  This is true, but it is still less expensive than eating out, so I am still saving money, and getting healthy at the same time.

I still have quite a ways to go.  I started off over 100 pounds overweight (according to the medical charts), although I am not sure I really need to be as thin as those charts say.  I am afraid that will make me look too much older.  But if I can be healthy, feel good and feel like exercising, I will have accomplished a lot, and, hopefully, will get to see my beautiful grandson (and the new grandbaby that is on the way) grow up to have children and grandchildren of their own.  Thank you for joining me on this journey.  It will be quite a ride I am sure!  Watch for my next post, when I will share my Homemade Spaghetti Sauce with an extra tip to make it even healthier.

What are you doing to improve your health this week?

6 thoughts on “Healthy Eating Can Be Delicious

  1. Aw thank you so much for such a kind post. It really made me smile. :)

    To improve my health… well, I’m about to go force myself to lift some weights to strengthen my muscles and bones. I hate it, but I make myself do it!

  2. Beth I love this, I love all your photos and tips. I so glad you started this. I always looking for healthier recipes. We are moving some so I will Have to ask you to give me some gardening tips.

    Keep up the good work. Whoot Whoot on the weight loss. I have 30 to go and using some of you recipes it will help.

    Rhonda

What do you think?

