My Favorite Healthy Snacks and Sweets

Last week I put a not-so-healthy recipe out here that was my Grandmother’s.  So I thought I would counter that with what I make when I want something sweet.

My favorite place to get healthy dessert and snack recipes is a blog called Chocolate Covered Katie.  I have mentioned her blog here before and highlighted a recipe.  I have since tried several more and here are my favorites.

Dark Chocolate Almond Candy Bars

This is made from CCK’s recipe for Hot Chocolate Butter.  I make up the chocolate butter (I usually double the recipe), add a good handful of roughly chopped, toasted almonds, spread it in a small pan and place it in the freezer.  When it has gotten solid, I cut it in pieces and then store it in a plastic bag in the freezer.  It is really delicious, and helps satisfy my chocolate cravings, without blowing my diet.

Quaker-Style Chewy Granola Bars
Photo by Chocolate Covered Katie

I also love CCK’s Quaker-Style Chewy Granola Bars.  I like to add mini-chocolate chips and fresh grated coconut.  Sometimes when I am really snack-hungry, I will take two of the granola bars and put a chocolate almond bar between them.  That way I have splurged without breaking the bank diet.

Chocolate Covered Katie’s blog also has many cookie recipes.  Two of my favorites are Chocolate Lace Cookies and Flourless Oatmeal-Raisin Cookies.

Another snack that I like to make is Peanut Butter & Dark Chocolate Shortbread Protein Bars.  These are found on a website that features coconut recipes because they are made with coconut oil.  This is a great snack for when it is going to be a while before the next meal.  With the protein powder in them, they will satisfy my hunger for several hours.

So these are a few of my favorites.  What are your favorite healthy desserts?

I hope you will try one or more of these recipes and let me know what you think.  When you do, you will realize you can have your cookies and eat them too.  Wishing you happy and healthy snacking!

6 thoughts on “My Favorite Healthy Snacks and Sweets

  1. I love her blog too. So great for someone who wants a healthy, delicious dessert and in a small batch, too. That way I don’t end up eating 25 cookies in 2 days :)

What do you think?

