Homemade Spaghetti Sauce

Over the years I have tried a lot of spaghetti sauce recipes.  In a pinch, I have used canned or jarred spaghetti sauce and added meat, onions, garlic and other goodies.  I have one recipe (that is delicious, by the way) that has chopped black olives in it.  But only recently have I made a spaghetti sauce that DH (Dear Husband) just can’t seem to get enough of.  Everytime I make it he tells me again that it is the best he has ever eaten.  What I don’t tell him is that it is the healthiest spaghetti sauce recipe I have made to date.

Homemade Spaghetti Sauce

  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1 lb. sweet turkey Italian sausage
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 large can tomato sauce
  • 1 large can diced or crushed tomatoes
  • 3 tbsp. dried Italian seasoning
  • 2 tbsp. chopped, fresh basil (or 1 tbsp. dried basil)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

In a large pot, on medium high heat, stir and cook onions, ground turkey and sausage (removed from casing) until meat is browned and crumbled.  Add garlic and cook just a few more minutes, being careful not to burn the garlic.  Add tomato sauce, tomatoes and Italian seasoning.  Bring to a boil and cook on low for about 30 minutes.  Add basil and cook an additional 10 minutes.  If you like your sauce thicker, you can cook it uncovered.  If you use dried basil, you can add it with the Italian seasoning.

Now, I serve this over pasta for DH, but to make it even healthier (and because I am eating gluten-free right now) I eat mine over spaghetti squash.  The spaghetti squash is easy.  Just cut it in half, scoop out the seeds and pulp, put on a pan (I line it with non-stick foil) and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.  Then, using a fork, scrape out the pulp in shreds.  Season with some butter, salt and pepper.  It is very good just plain, but wait until you try it with the sauce and a bit of shredded parmesan cheese…YUM!

Spaghetti sauce over spaghetti squash

It’s even better the second night  Enjoy!

What is your favorite pasta dish?

4 thoughts on “Homemade Spaghetti Sauce

  1. I have to admit…so far turkey substitutes haven’t been popular idea with the men at my house…but I would love to try the spaghetti squash! Sounds yummy!

    • Gay, I understand. I think the Turkey Italian Sausage gives it an extra punch of flavor and having it all smothered in sauce doesn’t hurt :-). Thanks for the comment. I hope you like the squash!

  2. Spaghetti Squash is one of my VERY VERY favorites. . .. my best friend’s mom growing up, used to make it for me 🙂

What do you think?

