Oatmeal…It’s What’s For Breakfast

Ok, so I like oatmeal.  I know not everyone does, but I do.  However, I don’t always want to eat just plain oatmeal.  As a matter of fact, I never do.  At the very least it needs brown sugar and butter.  But, lately, I have been experimenting with other oatmeal flavors, and some of them are very good.  I know these are more calories than plain oatmeal, but all ingredients are healthy and, sometimes, you just have to forget the calories and eat something that tastes really good, and if it is healthy, that is a bonus!

Apple Pie Oatmeal

I cook my oatmeal in the microwave and I only make one serving at a time (DH does not eat oatmeal).  It is easy and makes a quick breakfast if you are in a hurry.  My favorite flavor is Apple Pie Oatmeal.  In a medium size microwave safe bowl, combine 1/2 cup of oatmeal (I use regular oats, but you can use the one minute kind, just adjust the cooking time to what the package calls for); 1 pinch of salt; 1 small apple (or 1/2 of a medium apple), cored and chopped; 1 tsp. cinnamon (or a little more if you like it really cinnamony); 1 cup water (or you can use 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup milk) and 2-3 Stevia packets (or 2-3 tsp. sugar, depending on the tartness of the apple).  Then just microwave for 3 minutes.  Add 1 tbsp. butter, stir and enjoy!  You can also add a handful of chopped walnuts after cooking and it is even better.  Also, sometimes (depending on the juiciness of the apple), this oatmeal comes out a little thick, so I just add 1-2 tbsp. of milk, because I like mine creamy.  But do that as the last step, because the butter thins it a little too.

Another oatmeal combination I have come up with is Chocolate Peanut Butter oatmeal.  In the same size microwave safe bowl, combine 1/2 cup oatmeal; 1 pinch of salt; 1 tbsp. cocoa powder; 4 Stevia packets (or 4 tbsp. sugar); 1/2 cup of milk; 1/2 cup of water; and 1 tsp. vanilla.  I usually stir the dry ingredients with a whisk to break up the cocoa and then add the wet incredients.  Cook in the microwave for 3 minutes.  Add 1 tbsp. butter and 1-2 tbsp. peanut butter (depending on taste).  Stir and enjoy.

Peanut Butter and Banana Oatmeal

My third oatmeal combination is based on a southern favorite, peanut butter and banana sandwiches.  I am eating gluten-free right now, so that means no sandwiches.  I decided I would try Peanut Butter and Banana Oatmeal and it was really quite delicious.  Once again in your medium microwave safe bowl, combine 1/2 cup oats; 1 medium very ripe banana, peeled and chopped; 1 pinch of salt; 1/2 cup water; 1/2 cup milk and 1 tsp. vanilla.  Microwave on high 3 minutes.  Stir in 1-2 tbsp. peanut butter and enjoy!  You can add some Stevia or sugar if you want it a little sweeter, but if you use those almost rotten bananas that have been sitting around for days, they should make it sweet enough.  The banana kind of melts into the oatmeal and makes a smooth, creamy breakfast.

When cooking oatmeal in the microwave, the most important thing is to make sure your bowl is large enough, as the oatmeal will boil up to a little more than twice its original size while cooking.  I use my 4 cup Pyrex mixing bowl and it works great.

I hope this might encourage you to try oatmeal if you have never tried it, or if it has been awhile.  I have been reading studies about the health benefits of oatmeal and we can all use health benefits, right?  I have to go now, so I can finish my Apple Pie Oatmeal.  Until next time…

What is YOUR favorite breakfast food?

After writing this, I found one more oatmeal recipe but haven’t had time to try it.  It is called Cocoa-Date Oatmeal and I found it at www.eatingwell.com.  If you try it before I do, let me know what you think. ☺

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal…It’s What’s For Breakfast

What do you think?

