Roasted Vegetables

I have discovered a new favorite way to cook vegetables…roasting.  Roasted vegetables are so good.  It seems like the roasting just brings out all the good flavors of the vegetables, and the seasonings don’t hurt either.

I’m sure there are a lot of vegetables that are good roasted, and by combining several together, it makes a colorful and delicious side for any meal.  One of my favorite combinations is red potatoes, acorn squash and carrots.  Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.  I wash  the potatoes, cut off any bad places and cut them into bite sized pieces.  You don’t want small cubes, as they will go away to mush when roasted, so make them a good sized bite.  Then I halve the squash, remove the seeds, peel and cut it up.  Try to make all the vegetable pieces close to the same size so they will cook evenly.  Next, wash, scrape and cut up your carrots (same size pieces).  I usually cut all my vegetables into a large bowl so I can toss them easily.  Next, drizzle some extra virgin olive oil over your vegetables and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Toss them to coat and spread them out in a single layer on a shallow pan.  Roast in the oven for about 25-30 minutes, or until they are tender and lightly browned.  Remove from oven and drizzle just a little more olive oil over the vegetables and serve immediately.

Another combination we like (DH and I) is zucchini, yellow squash, and onions (sometimes I add grape tomatoes if I have them).  I prepare them the same way (bite size pieces), then toss them in olive oil, salt, pepper and italian seasoning.  Roast at 425 for 25-30 minutes.  Another small drizzle of olive oil and they are ready to eat.  Mmmmm, delicious!

Roasted Zucchini, Squash and Onion

What combination of vegetables do you enjoy?  They would probably be delicious roasted!

What do you think?

