Turkey Burgers with Caramelized Onions

I love hamburgers!  I just had to get that out.  I like my burger fat and juicy and with so many toppings I can barely fit it in my mouth.  However, I am afraid the days of eating the big, juicy, beefy burger is mostly in the past.   Oh, I could probably have one once a year or so, but I have found I can make delicious turkey burgers at home and they are so much better for me.  So I thought I would share one of my favorite ways to cook them.

Turkey Burger with Caramelized Onions

Turkey Burger with Caramelized Onions

  • 4 Turkey Burger Patties (about 1/4 lb. each)
  • Worcestershire Sauce
  • McCormick Grill Mates Montreal Steak Seasoning (or your favorite steak seasoning)
  • 2 Tbsp. Olive Oil
  • 1 Tbsp. Butter
  • 2 Medium Sweet Onions, thinly sliced

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Sprinkle both sides of the burgers with a little Worcestershire Sauce and Steak Seasoning.  Heat an oven proof 12 inch skillet (I used my cast iron skillet) on medium high heat, and add 1 Tbsp. olive oil.  Brown burgers on both side and remove to a plate to rest.  Add remaining 1 Tbsp. olive oil and the butter and

Caramelized Onions

let butter melt.  Add onions to skillet and stir and cook until brown and carmelized (about 8-10 minutes).  Remove onions from skillet.  Return burgers to skillet, top each burger with the caramelized onions.  Put skillet in oven and bake for about 20 minutes, or until burgers are completely cooked.

For dinner tonight, I served them with boiled red potatoes.  I left the bun off mine as I am staying away from bread right now, but I am sure they would be great with your favorite burger toppings.  They were really delicious all by themselves!

I first tasted a turkey burger at an O’Charlies Restaurant, and it was really tasty.  That was when I decided I could cook them at home.  I just season them like I would regular burgers.  They don’t taste exactly the same, but they are very good and will satisfy my hunger for a hamburger.  Enjoy!

What are your favorite burger toppings?

What do you think?

