Planting Time!

Well, this has been a beautiful day, as was yesterday and the day before!  We are having such wonderful early spring weather that I have planted my vegetable garden early.  If we have a threat of frost, I’ll just have to make sure to cover everything.  Although I am not worried, we barely had frost here in the Southeast during the winter, no reason to expect it now.  So I planted tomatoes, cucumbers, squash, and beans on Saturday and they are looking very happy.

Basil

The seeds I planted just a week ago are starting to sprout up in the greenhouse.  I have a tray of Basil, a tray of Cockscomb and a tray of Zinnias coming up already.  I will let them get a bit taller and stronger, then thin them or transfer them to pots.  My husband laughs at me because I can’t throw away the plants I take out when thinning and wind up with pots of things all over the place.  But they make great giveaways, which you know I like to do!

Now is also the time to get out those plants you took inside for the winter and give them a good ‘haircut’.  Remove dead leaves and stems, move pot bound plants to larger pots and add a good time release fertilizer to them all.  In your yard, it is time to clean up debris from the winter…remove leaves, trim plants that die back in the winter, fertilize and put out new mulch.  Whew!  It’s a lot of work, but it will give you wonderful results.  Your yard will look like a postcard!

So, roll up your sleeves and get to it.  There is a lot of work to be done! 🙂

What springtime chore do like the least?

2 thoughts on “Planting Time!

What do you think?

