Purple Hull Pea and Rice Salad

Purple Hull Pea and Rice Salad

I was reading one of the blogs I follow, called Danny’s Kitchen, and saw on there that he was running what he calls the Great Leftover Challenge.  Being a fairly new blogger like me, he was not offering any prizes, but it still intrigued me.  So I went straight to the refrigerator to see what kind of leftovers I had.  I found some leftover purple hull peas that I had cooked with some ham (I live in the south, I cook ALL peas with ham).  I also found some leftover rice that was a mixture of brown and wild rice.  So Purple Hull Pea and Rice salad was born.

Purple Hull Pea and Rice Salad

  • 1-1 1/2 cups cooked purple hull peas
  • 1 cup cooked brown and wild rice mixture
  • 1 green onion, finely chopped
  • 3 tbsp. pimento stuffed green olives, chopped
  • 1 tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp. dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper

I started off microwaving the peas and rice for about 30 seconds each, as I wanted the salad at room temperature, then I mixed them together.  I added the onion and olives. Then I made a vinaigrette by whisking together the vinegar and mustard, and adding the olive oil while continuing to whisk.  I then tossed the vinaigrette with the pea and rice mixture, added a little pepper and enjoyed.  This made about 2 good sized servings, so you could double or triple the recipe to feed more people.

The flavor was mild, but delicious.  After letting the salad sit in the refrigerator overnight, the flavor has developed and it tastes even better!  I think I still prefer it not so cold, though. So my suggestion would be to make it ahead and refrigerate, but then remove it from the fridge about 30 minutes to an hour before serving.  You could set it out when you start dinner and it would probably be perfect by the time the meal is ready!

I think I need to get cooking so I’ll have more leftovers to play with…that was fun!

What is your favorite use of leftovers?

5 thoughts on “Purple Hull Pea and Rice Salad

  1. Pingback: The Great Leftover Challenge: Let the Voting Begin! | Danny's Kitchen

  2. Ok, that’s a very creative way to have left-overs … come to think of it, it’s really a new dish! You managed to save money AND introduce something exciting for dinner. You’ve got my vote, as well!

What do you think?

