Salmon with Citrus Salsa

I had 2 salmon fillets that I planned to cook for dinner last week and had seen some recipes for serving it with a citrus salsa.  When I went to check those recipes again, I didn’t have all the ingredients for any one recipe so I decided to wing it.  This is what I came up with:

Salmon with Citrus Salsa

  • 2 salmon fillets
  • 1 tsp. agave nectar
  • 1 orange
  • 1 grapefruit
  • Zest of 1 lime
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 tsp. chopped cilantro
  • 2 tbsp. finely chopped Vidalia onion (or other sweet onion)

Peel grapefruit and orange, making sure to remove the white pith.  Cut out the sections from the membrane into a small bowl.  Add the lime zest of a whole lime and the juice of half of the lime.  Add your chopped cilantro and onion, stir and set aside.  Rub salmon with the agave nectar and cook on an oiled griddle or skillet (it only takes a little olive oil on your griddle or pan, just to keep the salmon from sticking).  I pan seared them for about 3 minutes on each side, then covered them for another 3-4 minutes (we like our salmon well done), but cook them to your liking.  Serve with the citrus salsa on top.

My husband was very impressed with this meal.  I served it with roasted vegetables and it made a very nice presentation, as well as a delicious meal.  I think you could use whatever citrus you have (oranges, grapefruit, tangerines, etc.) and could probably vary the seasoning a bit, as there were several different recipes I found for citrus salsa.  The pairing of the citrus and the salmon is ideal, though.

What is your favorite side dish with fish?

6 thoughts on “Salmon with Citrus Salsa

  1. Looks good! For some reason we usually tend to have rice pilaf (the boxed kind from Near East) and broccoli whenever we have fish. We’ll have to try some citrus next time!

  2. Yummy! I’ve been a big fan of the salsa (ok, anything with cilantro, lol) but I’ve never used orange or grapefruit; it’s usually pineapple & mango but now I can’t wait to use this recipe!

What do you think?

