Homemade Tomato Soup

My mother used to make a recipe for a ground beef casserole that she called Meat Jamboree.  I was a delicious combination of ground beef, canned tomato soup, egg noodles, green beans and cheese.  When I decided I wanted to work on it and make it healthier, I knew I did not want to use canned soup, so decided to make my own.  Here is my Tomato Soup recipe, and next week I’ll share my Ground Turkey Jamboree recipe.

Homemade Tomato Soup with Basil

Homemade Tomato Soup

  • 1 qt. Tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp. Olive Oil
  • 1/2 med. Onion, chopped
  • 1 stalk Celery, chopped
  • 1 med. Carrot, chpped
  • 1/4 lb. Mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 clove Garlic, minced
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

In medium saucepan, saute onion, celery, carrot and mushrooms in olive oil, with salt and pepper, until soft.  Add garlic and saute for just a few minutes, being careful not to burn the garlic.  Add tomatoes and simmer covered for about 15 minutes then remove the lid and simmer uncovered 15-20 minutes.  I then used an immersion blender to blend the soup until it was smooth.  If you don’t have an immersion blender, you could (very carefully) pour the soup into your food processor of VitaMix and blend until smooth.  If the soup is too thin, you can continue to cook uncovered for a short while to thicken it.  I used my home canned tomatoes, but this would also be delicious with fresh tomatoes from your garden (I would peel them and it might take a little longer to cook to the right thickness) or you could use store bought canned tomatoes (probably about 3 regular sized cans would work just fine).

About the time I finished making the soup, a friend of mine came over with some fresh basil from her garden.  I removed the amount of soup I needed for my Jamboree and then chopped the basil (about 2 tbsp.) and added it to my soup, cooking it about another ten minutes to incorporate the basil.  I just thought it was delicious before the basil!

This recipe made about enough soup for 2 people, but it could easily be doubled or tripled to serve more.

What is your favorite homemade soup?

6 thoughts on “Homemade Tomato Soup

  1. That looks really yummy! Sometimes if I don’t feel like waiting for the soup to thicken, I just add a whole bunch of misc. veggies and broken spaghetti noodles for great minestrone soup!

  2. Yummy I love tomato soup but am the only one at my house that does. Michael likes tomatoes but not tomato soup. The favorite homemade soup around our house is potato soup. Sometimes I put bacon and cheese in it. Although not very healthy it is yummy. :o)

  3. Pingback: Mom’s Best Tomato Soup Canning Recipe | Ms. Skinny Bitch

  4. Pingback: Ground Turkey Jamboree | Gardens and Garlic

What do you think?

